Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

stuck in 4wd

Hi hello,

I have a 99 explorer that is locked in 4wd

im a decent mechanic and have never needed to take a vehicle to a shop, but this has me baffled

it has a borg warner 44-05 xfer case, auto, 4 hi , 4 lo selector switch in cab NO LOCKING HUBS.

its not the elec motor on back of case, I replaced that and manually shifted to all 3 positions, for some reason the "auto" function keeps me in 4wd, so many sensors, lack of info, i cant figure it out...hope its just a bad xfer case, but cant be sure

any ideas on whats going on, or help to diagnose the problem?

need to narrow it to electrical auto function or mechanical xfer case prob

stuck on what to do, dont want to spend hundreds on troubleshooting for a vehicle not really worth much, but if its just a speed sensor or something and not xfer case

anyways please reply when you can,

any help is much appreciated

thanks

john

blacksnapon

Staff member
Its WAAAAAAAY too hard to explain the actual operation of those transfer cases, so, I'm not going to. In short, it's always in 4x4. Any deviation of equal rotation from any of the wheels will put it into 4x4.

Just a winging it...have you tried backing it up 100' after putting it back into Hi?
My nephew had an Exploder locked in 4..went to reverse for about 100' and it kicked out.
Just a thought.

blacksnapon

Staff member
Inside the case, theres dozens of paper thin "clutches" that are packed in very tight. Any "slippage" creates heat that cause the clutches to warp, effectively eliminating any clearance, locking the case into 4x4. Neat in theory, but they wont take any, or very little rough road operation.

thanks for the ideas, im going to try disconnecting the connector on the case today...brown wire....from what i gather if I am still locked the its the xfer case and not an elec problem