Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

1951 F1 motor, trans, & rear end help.

This is my first post and my first project ever. I purchased a 1951 F1 Ford pickup. It has no motor or transmission. It has a 6 volt wiring system. I plan to convert the 6 volt to a 12 volt system. Here is the question I need help with. I would like to drop a small block ford v-8 into the truck. I have read many suggestions and I believe I will go with the 302 and the AOD transmission.

What years motors would be good for this?

What years transmission would be good?

What gear ratio and what kind of rear end would be good that would fit on the stock frame?

Would it be better to get a donor car or truck for the drive line?

Any suggestions or recommendations would be appreciated.

I can figure out the reset of the build but I am not experienced in the motor, trans or rear end specs. I am not looking to hot rod it but I want it to run good and sound good with descent gas mileage.

mtflat

Flatheads Forever
Welcome and congratulations on owning one of Ford's finest!

You should get lots of help on this....I'll watch for a bit before I ramble on.

I pulled the broken windshield out of my 50 today - tomorrow it goes to the glass shop as a pattern.

Mtflat thank you so much. I am so excited one to belong to this site where I can learn so much from guys like you who are more experienced and two I feel like a kid in a candy store with my first build. It is a honor to build a piece of ford history. Thanks again

havi

third member
Welcome!