Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

the fun"ness" of dropping a gas tank

So i studied up on dropping the gas tank without removing the bed, not hard not at all. i get there unhook things, start doing the gas tank strap, first one comes off easy sweet. now drivers side strap bolt near the front of the truck, good mother of god was that a pain in the butt. i ended up having to drill the bolt off and take vice grips to get it off, that was a :headbang: moment(s) i got it off, the gas tank seems to becoming out easily then BAM the guy who did the exhaust system on it awhile back for me, put the hanger for the rear of the tail pipe right to where i can't take the gas tank out without removing it :hammer:

i just hate when i have to do more and more things oh well just needed to vent for a minute and eat lunch

Fellro

Staff member
I have an ag hitch under my 86. When I discovered I had a leak, I looked at how it would be to pull it. I did consider pulling the bed, but as rusty and nasty as the bolts were, I decided against it. I have to remove my rear bumper to get the tank down, as the bumper extends over half way under the tank. That was not a lot of fun, as it is likely in the territory of 100-150 pound... I did use a hoist to do it though.

bucks77ford

We will Rise Again
I am sorry lol, i just got the tank out of the truck now to take out the sender and but im not sure how to

There should be a lock ring that turns until the grooves line up and then the ring comes off, the sender comes right out. I've always used a hammer and a screwdriver to get the ring off.

Sometimes we all need to vent about things.

Fellro

Staff member