Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Should i change my plans.

Currently my 77 ford is my daily driver, the motor has issues, and i have plans to rebuild the 400 this winter.

My issue now is on the Left bank of the motor ( Looking at from the front ) I have a tapping noise i can hear it on cylinders 2 and 3 and the motor shakes and misses at idle. If i put the coal to it, it seams to still run strong and of course i cant hear the tap over other noise.

My question is should i change my plans and do a top end refresh now or try to hold out till i can do the full rebuild.

fatherdoug

Tonto Papadapolous
I'm not an engine expert, but it could be either carbon buildup on the valves or burnt valves.

A can of seafoam would help determine if it is just carbon buildup. Read the directions on the can. Some people use vacuum from the brake booster to suck the seafoam into the engine.

Time is my only issue, i can only put the truck down for no more then two days. Do yall think it would be better to find another 400 and build it and then swap them out?

DNFXDLI

The Token Canadian
Staff member
If you are on that kind of a time constraint, then yes.

5.0Flareside

GingaNinja
La Vergne, TN
Yes its the Frams Fault, Filters oil great. It dose not Filter out Motor Gremlins

Motorcraft..........LOL. 1 level below a Fram, and 10 times better then a STP filter.

It's called a anti drain back valve.. A lot of frams don't have em. And if they do they're junk. Which causes dry starts and in turn after years of this cause wear..

And bwhahahaha have you ever cut a fram open?

Here's a video for ya I watched about 3 years ago..

Sent from my iPhone 4 using Ford Power

LEB Ben

Arrogant A-hole At-Large
outside your house