Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

New To This Site

Hello all I just joined this site as I'm starting to plan working on my truck again and know how useful a good forum can be when building or just driving a vehicle. A little about me.My name is Thomas Godfrey, I'm 26 from Prince Edward Island Canada. I am currently living in Iqaluit, Nunavut Canada (Arctic) while I pay off student loans. I am a licensed mechanic, as well as I have a business degree (wasn't enough money in mechanics). I was born and raised on vehicles, my father is also a mechanic and a die hard Ford fan. I currently own a modified 1995 Honda Civic (toy), a 1990 Acura Integra (beater) and of course my love and long term project my 1979 Ford Pickup..

A little about the truck.

The truck is a 1979 Ford 1/2 ton long wheel base 2WD. I purchased the truck when I was 14 from an old farmer for 400 dollars (CDN). The truck really was not rusted all that bad on the body but the frame was in very poor shape. I then bought a second truck as a donor for a few parts, and managed to find an almost rust free frame for my base. My goals for the truck are pretty big and I know I'll realize them someday, I'm just not sure when. I currently have a few mods done to it. I have the roof chopped 2 1/2 inches in the rear and 2 3/4 inches in the front, the truck has a 1972 Crown Victoria IFS grafted onto the frame, and the tailights and stake holes are filled. I have not worked on the truck for about 6 years due to going back to school and now trying to pay for it. My shopping list right now inculdes a 4 link rear suspension, wheels and tires so the suspension can be properly set up, a different dash (was never a fan of the 73-79 dash) and some pieces to start finishing up the exterior of the truck. Pictures will follow when I get home to my own computer.

A little about my fathers trucks.