Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Carburetor expert needed.

I need some advice from someone who knows their stuff about a motorcraft model 2150 2bbl. carburetor on a 351M. The carb. is the original one and as far as I can tell it has never been re-built. I have put a power valve and diaphragm in it but the rest is untouched. My question is concerning the air/fuel adjustment screws (or mixture screws). I have very little experience with carburetors so I'm going to need a little help determining how to properly adjust these. As far as I can tell the idle adjustment must be fine tuned when adjusting the mixture screws. In other words, just because my idle is ok now does not mean that the air/fuel ratio is correct. I have run the screws in all the way and when I do, I have to hold the throttle to keep it from cutting off (which is normal). I have found that in order to achieve the proper idle, I had to back each screw out five full turns. However, this was without making any adjustments to my idle screw. It seems to run fine now and it idles perfect but I want to make sure the air/fuel mixture is safe. How do I properly adjust these screws to achieve the right mixture of air and fuel? What tools should I need to properly do this?

blacksnapon

Staff member