Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Project Truck need some advice

HazzardMadWolf

Go Fast Turn Left
It's a 1985 F-350 460 cu. in. C-6 Tranny NP205 Transfer Case. Here's the plan: since the truck is a 2wd made into 4wd by previous owner there is a lot to fix. Leaf springs need moved out shocks need installed front drive shaft needs installed. I am thinking about a doubler transfer case already have the 205 and possibly a 203 on the way. Any of you guys got one? Is it worth the time and money? I would also like to change out the C-6 for a five or six speed. I am not sure what kind to get that would bolt up to the 460. Any suggestions? Any advise would be helpful as I am new to the 4X4 world.

LEB Paul

I like Broncos
What are you plans for the truck? Mud bogger, rock crawler, mall crawler?

Unless you're rock crawling (not the best platform to start off with IMO) I think a doubler would be a waste, especially with the tq the 460 puts out, you don't need all that gear. On the other hand if you got yourself a smaller platform - an early bronco, full size bronco, or even a *gasp* Jeep - you have all the parts in that truck you would need for a killer drive train. Is your front axle a dana60?

As for transmissions, I'm assuming you mean manual when you ask for 5 or 6 speed suggestions - your best bet here is the zf-5 or even the zf-6speed used in the newer stupid duties (though I'm not sure if that will bolt up, someone help me out here??). However the zf-5 can be found behind 460s from the factory, so that is a good option.

Skandocious

Post Whores Make Me Sick
California
ZF-5 is your best bet for a manual transmission. The ZF-6 will not bolt up... Though I suppose ANYTHING is possible, but the point is that the bolt pattern is not the same so it'll take some heavy modifications.