Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Getting a lil lift w/out a BL

TazDevil07

Go Ahead and Git Some Boy
I have tbars on my Ranger and am told I can crank them a couple notchs and get a lil height out of em. And that I would need to get a realignment afterwards.

Now my question is, how much height can I get safely but cranking? 1"? 2"? And by doing so, will it level out the Ranger? And will I be able to fit a 32" tire without rubbing?

slmann

Charter Member
Festus, Mo.
I have no personal experience with this but from what I've heard you can crank the tbars to level out the truck but your ride quality will suffer.

nobodyspecial

Fire in the hole...
ND
I am getting ready to do the same with my Mountaineer. The thing about the torsion bars is that, yes you can lift up to 2 inches on a 4x4 (if its the same setup as the 2000ish models, I don't know if they changed it for the newer models such as yours)

Any farther than that and you are putting your CVs at a harsher angle and they will wear out faster. It will also firm up the suspension.

TazDevil07

I am getting ready to do the same with my Mountaineer. The thing about the torsion bars is that, yes you can lift up to 2 inches on a 4x4 (if its the same setup as the 2000ish models, I don't know if they changed it for the newer models such as yours)

Any farther than that and you are putting your CVs at a harsher angle and they will wear out faster. It will also firm up the suspension.

Thanks. Yeah, I've heard different things and everyone says, it'll stiffen up the ride but dammit, its not a cadillac, its a truck. Suppose to be rough. I'm just concerned about wearing issue but being its a new truck with only 20k on it, don't see that anything would wear that quickly.

nobodyspecial

Fire in the hole...
ND