Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Whats up im new here

Hello everyone, im a new member. I am planning to swap the body from an 86 f150 2wd to an 83 f350 4wd. I know it s a lot of work but at the same time it isnt. i was wondering what all will i expect to run into trouble wise. I dont imagine i will be getting around to doing the swap soon as moneys tight so for now im just swapping my tired 300 for a rebuilt 300. I am new to fords so how can i tell what trannsmission i have in my 86? And what rear/gear ratio?

Thanks, Joe

Fordzilla80

Ranger Lariat
Narnia
Welcome to the site Joe!

As for your body swap,make sure the 86 body will fit the frame.In example,if the 86 is a single cab longbed,make sure the 83 F350 is also a single cab longbed.If the frames aren't the same,then you're going to have some work ahead of you.

As far as transmissions go,do you have an automatic or a manual?You can tell what Automatic transmission you have by looking at the shape of the transmission pan.I'm not a manual transmission guy,so maybe someone else in here can chime in.

Once again,welcome to the forums.

Yeah they are both regular cab longboxes. The tranny is an auto.

THanks fordtruckman!!!! I hope to be here forever now lol

Fordzilla80

Ranger Lariat
Narnia
Yeah they are both regular cab longboxes. The tranny is an auto.

THanks fordtruckman!!!! I hope to be here forever now lol

Okay that's good.Here's a chart that will help you Identify your transmission....

TransIDChart.JPG

Hope that helps.

This truly is a great site.Everyone here is friendly,and we're all here to help each other.Enjoy the site man,and I look forward to seein more posts on your swap.Good luck.

countryboytn

'78 Bronco owner
That actually sounds like a neat little project! (well.. I dunno if you can really call it "little" smilietease)

Keep us updated for sure!

89frankenford