Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Need Help! School me on 9th Gen F150

Hi everyone. Looking at buying a 1996 F150 Eddie Bauer. 6 cylinder with the manual transmission Truck has 106k miles on it and the seller is asking $2650. Overall the truck is clean. I have no knowledge about these trucks. I previously owned a 99 F250 diesel which I absolutely loved and was dead reliable. How are these trucks. I am literally only using this to drive as my beater vehicle. I work in development so sometimes I visit sits. My car is getting trashed. Don't want to spend too much money...

Are they trucks reliable? What things should I look out for? I will probably have th truck checked out.

flareside_thunder

Florida Chapter member
That engine is pretty well bulletproof as long as you take care of it. Plenty of low torque too and the 5 speed makes it enjoyable to drive. Don't expect it to have the giddy up as your previous f250. That mileage is definitely decently low. If you can get some pics up, please do.....other wise I'd be lookin at around 2300 bucks to pay for that truck.

Ridgerunner

Missouri Chapter member
Stillwater Ok
That engine is pretty well bulletproof as long as you take care of it. Plenty of low torque too and the 5 speed makes it enjoyable to drive. Don't expect it to have the giddy up as your previous f250. That mileage is definitely decently low. If you can get some pics up, please do.....other wise I'd be lookin at around 2300 bucks to pay for that truck.

X2 those 300 sixes are great torque monster and can haul a good amount.
Welcome to FTF

O'Rattlecan

Redneck Prognosticator
Belton, MO
That truck sounds like it fits the bill of what you're looking for. If you keep that 4.9L Inline 6 oiled regularly, it'll go 300k miles. If not, I'd say you got a lemon. The 5 speed makes it an even sweeter deal.

Welcome to FTF!

:welcome:

Ryan

tedrow42