Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

wont pump gas

hi guys,i need some help,have a 79 f350,6.5ltr, flatbed crewcab it has been sitting for awhile,havent been able to afford gas in this thing since gas went north of 3bucks a gallon,its kinda a hog on it,so its been sitting for about 3 years,i tried to start it and it wouldnt pump gas,i pulled the gas line off carb and it would squirt just a little at a time,when i put the gas line back on i could see in the filter it would fill then empty,fill,then empty,because im no mechanic i didnt realize,when i pulled the line off to see if it was pumping i squirted gas all over the engine,it backfired and the whole engine cought fire,burned some wires and distibutor cap up,put it out replaced everything that was burned,and then replaced fuel pump,still wont pump fuel, i exchanged that pump for another and did it again thinking maybe they sold me a bad one,still wont pump,i thought maybe tank was clogged with bad fuel so i cut the line coming from tank and stuck it in a full gas can thinking it would pump and that would tell me if it did ,that it was the tank,but it still wont pump.agggggggggg!,could someone tell me whats next,this is a crew cab 79f350 one ton dually,kinda rare i think,i havent seen a 4 door 70 model truck anywhere where i live except one in a junk yard,i dont want to see this old thing end up there!!,it runs great,or atleast it did when i parked it 3 years ago,sorry to drag on about it,just wanted to give some history of the problem,i love this truck,it makes me think of the line in the eagles song "its a girl my lord in a flat bed ford slowin down to take a look at me!" lol!,thanks in advance and hope to make some friends here cause with this old thing and my lack of experience i think im gonna need yall!.....julie