Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Header Question...96 F350 w/ 351

I did a search and I can not find a whole lot on what I am looking for.

Can some one tell what the difference between a 302 header and a 351?
I am new to Ford motors and the performance side of things. I have done SBC for two reasons, Cheap and Easy to build.
But from what I can tell right now. Nothing is really interchangeable between the two.

But what I want to know is will 302 headers fit on a 351? I can get some 302 Mustang headers for $75 right now form a buddy but looking at the truck ones I can drop the 200 for a set of them right now. Reason I want to know is my Manifolds are cracked and leaking like crazy and all the local yards have one in just as bad of shape as mine.
Edit/Delete Message

Fellro

Staff member
I can say that out of the truck, the headers will bolt. In the frame, likely another story. Major difference for this aspect is that the deck height of the 351W is over 1" higher, which puts the heads that much closer to the frame. If they bent the pipes with the frame clearance in use, then the 302 headers would hit the frame.

Well I ordered a set from summit today for a 95 f350 as 96 had one set listed and it was 300 bucks. yet the part number was the same for the 95 and 96. Did some looking as to were the AIR tube went and it came out the same place on the Summit ones as it did the 300 dollar set. So i dont see why they will not have a fitment issue.

O'Rattlecan

Redneck Prognosticator
Belton, MO
Did you go with long tube or shorty headers? Almost all (if not all) of the shorty headers bolt right into your current exhaust as well, so you don't need anything custom at all. Good luck on your swap.

Ryan

Thanks for info guys.