Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Transmision question

Ok Im pretty new to the whole truck scene and epecially 4x4 so Im probably gonna be posting some newbish questions. Ive got an 81F250 2wd that Im going to be putting on an 85 250 4x4 frame. All I got was the frame and axles thats pretty much it. The 2wd has a 300 wih a C6. Id like to use the C6 in the 4x4 frame. My question is can a 2wd trans be adapted for 4wd? Is it as easy as changing the bellhousing to accept a trasfer case or should I just find a 4x4 trans?:hammer:

DNFXDLI

The Token Canadian
Staff member
As far as I know the C6 when in a 4x4 application has a longer output shaft and a housing that joins the transmission to the transfer case...I'm basing that on a 1979 model...more knowing people will be chiming in I'm sure.

Fellro

Staff member
Now, please don't take offense, but I want to clear up your terminology to keep from confusing people. Bell housing refers to the end that bolts to the motor, while tailshaft housing refers to the end that goes to the transfer case or driveshaft.

On which is the method, not sure, but from the adventures of Buzzgun, this may well be the way it is. Typically, that is what the changes are, different tail shaft for each configuration, no other real changes.

DNFXDLI

The Token Canadian
Staff member
I believe so..and you will also need the intermediate housing that joins the transmission to the transfer case, assuming that those years are setup the same way as the 79's.

BuzzGun79

Nov.TOTM 2012 / 2012 TOTY
YEP i just went through this with my 79 F250 C-6 you will need to change the output shaft,part # 036678D it measures 18 1/2" in lenghth.also you will need a tail stock so it will bolt up to the transfer case.{i already had this} then it will work.

BuzzGun79