Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Cold weather condensation

Hey guys,

Well... The cold weather has come, and snow is on the ground. YAY :rotz:

I've noticed a lot of condensation inside my engine lately. When the oil fill cap is removed, there is always a bunch of this greasy, creamy looking goop all over.

Now, I don't drive a lot, and I'm a student with the school near by, so I don't take to many long trips. I try to get the engine nice and warm everyday, but it doesn't see many miles.

Am I going to harm my engine much, I mean... I can't avoid the stuff, and the winter months are lonnnnng around here... I just hate seeing the stuff inside my precious 5.4 :D

DNFXDLI

The Token Canadian
Staff member
Be diligent about your oil changes...and you need to get the engine up to full operating temp.

LEB Ben

Arrogant A-hole At-Large
outside your house
Move south for the winter...problem solved. But as Duncan said, oil changes and burn off will be the ticket.

DNFXDLI

The Token Canadian
Staff member
I don't think he's going to be able to get the engine up to running temps where he's at.Hell I can't even do thjat just starting my truck in tha garage in 40 * s

Should be able to Mark....sometimes a winter front is needed though.

Don't forget that when the cab starts to warm up , the condnsation starts to form in between the roof and the headliner and causes the the roof to rust at the drip rails.( a chevy person admitted to this )
Then it drips down and rusts out the cab corners
I'll bet you thought the cab corners rusted froim the outside

Should be able to Mark....sometimes a winter front is needed though.

Yea, I tried to get the truck up to temp today. Not gonna happen without some front cover. I know some guys just do the cardboard, but I want to do something half decent...

LEB Ben

Arrogant A-hole At-Large
outside your house