Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Another for the old timers

blacksnapon

Staff member
The one motor I have ZERO experience with. I'll guess gear driven.

Kep4

Jäger
I have no clue.

Where's Bill?! (BKW) He'll know the exact part number, why it was made that way, how much it would cost and when it was discontinued.

Wasn't it that the water pump itself fed water to the block by hoses, as well as to and from the radiator? Been a long time since I saw one of those but if my memory hasn't gone completely gonzo, the the pump drew from the rad, out a hose to the block, then a hose from the block to the rad?

See? I wasn't too fer off.... And I didn't have pics to cheat with!

I know you took em last week, and I prolly coulda GOOGLED it as WELL. Sicko that I am, I was trying to actually REMEMBER. silly me. :rofl:

And??? sheesh the question isn't THAT old...

BKW

Ford Parts Guru
4 hoses. Each side had a feed to and from the block.

DSCF0831.jpg

DSCF0832.jpg

Can you see them in those pics?

Unfortunately, we have all had cars we wish we had kept. Thats the way it goes......

Uh...I see two completely different flathead engines. Notice the outlets on the heads for the radiator hoses.

Tony: The bumper ends on your 1947 Mercury are worth at minimum $1000.00 for the set of four. Those accessory ends are an extremely tough accessory to find today.

What's unique about the front engine mounts on the flatheads? Notice what they are a part of.

Last edited:

surewhynot

Rep whores make me sick
Florida
Bill, you nailed it on the (flat) head. :)
The water pumps are also the front engine mounts.

BKW

Ford Parts Guru
Bill, you nailed it on the (flat) head. :)
The water pumps are also the front engine mounts.
When I read the question, I knew the answer immediatly, and here's why:

Previous powered by Ford flathead vehicles owned:

1-1936 Lincoln Zephyr V12.