Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

New Member with Wrecked Ranger.

Fordzilla80

Ranger Lariat
Narnia
Hey ya'll,i'm fairly new to Ford Truck Fanatics,and especially the Ranger section.I've been here for 3 days now and I love the site.I mainly hang around the 7th and 8th-8th gen F-Series forums.I figured i'd drop by and introduce myself here,since I plan on getting another Ranger someday.I bet ya'll are wondering about my first Ranger,so i'll give you the story.Back in February I was coming home from the store when I saw a black Ranger sitting in the front of a guy's yard 2 streets away from me.It had a for sale sign in the window that had the guy's number and 1,000 obo.I copied the number down,and after taking a close look at the truck,I went home and called the owner.He said he was on his way home from work,but he could show me the truck in half an hour.I agreed,and after a half an hour,I walked down to his house.What he was selling was his 2000 Ford Ranger Sport.It had a 2.5 4 Banger with an Automatic.It had a long bed,which was pretty rare to me.It had 189,000 miles on it,but the 2.5 had been rebuilt about 30,000 miles ago.It had a slight problem shifting from 1st to 2nd gear,but it was just a small jolt.The owner told me that his wife had pulled horse trailers with it,so that was most likely the cause.It didn't affect the way the truck ran.He told me his wife had been the first owner of the truck,and she got it new from the local Ford dealer.After talking a little more and hearing it run,he told me I could have it for 800 bucks.I told him I was very interested,and that I would have to go back and talk with my mom about it(i'm only 16),and make a decision with her.The next night I dragged my mom down to look at the truck.After she looked it over and took a quick test drive,she asked the owner if they would accept 100 dollars to hold the truck til I could get t