Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Cab/Frame Preservation...

So some things have come to light since my previous post about this 1959 (still haven't verified that yet) Ford daully i have been drooling over for the last 5-6 years.

It is pretty much mine if i want it, i just need to find a replacement frame for the grain box on the back, so not a huge deal, i have a few connection would can help me out with that

After putting some serious thought into it (my school work is beginning to show just how much i have been thinking about it, haha) i have for the most part decided against making it road legal this summer and using it as a town truck and what not. if i am going to do this truck its going to be right, the first time. Frankly it comes down to $$$ and i would much rather hold onto that money for my current DD and i just won't have enough time in the summer to do it right.

Now i have not been able to go over this truck with a fine tooth comb in recent years so right now its just wishful thinking (and praying) that it is half as good as i think it is.

My plan is to take the grain box off it and preserve this truck and frame for a time when i can do some thing with it, likely a few years down the road. It currently sits on my grandpas farm exposed to every element, and has endured every element for the last 5-6 years my grandpas owned it, i would guess another 10-20 before that (just a stab in the dark)

What i am PRAYING on is the fact that this truck never saw a pavement road in it life and likely didn't. Given that it has never seen the salt it should be half as good as i think it will be.....

ok ok, enough of this damn rabbling i am wasting every ones times... to the point