Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

1997 F250 HD.. Passenger axle u joints?

Hello folks.
Truck is a 1997 F250 HD with 4 speed auto, 4x4, 5.8L engine. 340,000 miles. It has the articulated front axle with the additional u joint next to the diff.
This is my dad's truck. He is hoping I can help him do the passenger side front axle u-joints, hub, and bearings. I have done hubs, u joints, and some carrier repairs before but I am not an expert. My biggest concerns with this project are time and access to parts. He lives an hour away from me in the mountains. I might only have a few hours to complete the project. The parts store there is very modest. So I come to you folks hoping for some tips. Basically I need to show up prepared and bust it out.

A couple specific Q's:
I watched a video where a guy did both passenger u joints with the axle in the truck. He used a Tiger Tool 10105 press. Is this route easier/faster than pulling the axle? I was thinking about buying the press if it makes the job faster. I also have a HF "C" clamp style press and an impact gun and the (hopefully) correct spindle nut socket.

Is there a better repair manual than the Chilton 26664? I have Chilton manuals for all my vehicles. I am a big fan. But this particular manual sucks. Poor descriptions and no exploded drawings of the hub/axle ass'y.

I want to make this go as fast as possible. I will have dad spray everything down with PB Blaster the night before. Any other tips? Specific tools I will need?

Thanks for the help.

Last edited:

Blue-Truck-Nut97

crank polisher
Ok, had never heard of a tiger tool. That's slick. I now want one.

If you can accomplish it in the truck, that will save lots of time. What follows is from memory, and my memory can be a little foggy, so please try to verify before scattering parts all over the mountian.

Remove passenger wheel, brakes, hub and wheel bearings.