Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Carb help

Ok. So I am a little new to older vehicles. My truck is a 1978 F-250 with a 351M in it. It has the two barrel carburetor in it with an automatic choke. I don't feel that the choke is working properly. After switching into drive while being cold it tends to die on me. I haven't had the opportunity to check if the choke is actually closing yet. Any other opinions on what it could be would be appreciated.

LEB Ben

Arrogant A-hole At-Large
outside your house
What's your starting procedure? Do you give it time to actually warm up (it didn't sound like it from your post, but you need to let it warm up some)? Are there any other symptoms than just dying? How long can you go before it does on you? If for the most part, it instantaneously dies, then yes, I'd say more than likely a choke issue. If it's a sporadic problem, or if you can drive some distance, I'd say a fuel delivery issue.

1985 Ford F-150

Country Boys Can Survive
Tooele, Utah
I have the choke wired open on mine and if I let it warm up for 5 or 10 minutes its fine but if I try to start it up and just go itll die. It sounds like your tryin to just start it up and go. Just let it warm up for a little bit before ya drive it.

LEB Ben

Arrogant A-hole At-Large
outside your house
I give it a couple minutes to want up and it dies when I hit the accelerator almost instantaneously when in gear.

Do you notice any smell of gas? If so, she's flooding.

DNFXDLI

The Token Canadian
Staff member
Does the choke unload properly?...after running for a minute or two, if you quickly tap the accelerator does the idle drop?