Ford Truck Fanatics  

Home Gallery TOTM New Posts My Threads / My Replies Links Sponsors Calendar Arcade Calculators Fliers
Go Back   Ford Truck Fanatics > General > General Conversation

Old 01-31-2020, 03:30 PM
caffeine junkie

Super Moderator

john112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond reputejohn112deere has a reputation beyond repute
adjust indirect hot water tank

Trying to figure out how to raise the "low side" temperature on my indirect hot water tank.

Conceptually, I know how this thing works...but I have no hands-on knowledge, and, more critically, know nothing of the vocabulary...so internet searches are not very productive.

Photo 1 is the overall system. Tired old boiler (1988) but it works OK; newer (2011) indirect hot water tank. Issue is that although the hot water is usually (barely) hot enough, if we go a long time (say 36 hrs) without using much (no showers, dishwasher, washing machine) it cools off to not much more than tepid. This may be compounded by the fact it's probably too big a tank for two people?

I assume this is that the low-side temp is set too low...an influx of cold well water will cool it off enough to kick in the circulator, but just ambient cooling it'll get cooler than I want before it starts the circulator?

Popped this cover off (photo 2) thinking I'd have a nice pair of dials to play with, but not so much...advice on how to address this? (Photos 3 and 4.)