Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Lift kit

Ok guys. Is there a lift kit out there for the 80-86 F-150's? If so, where can I get one? Also, give me the low-down on what is involved, when it comes to lift kits I don't know the first thing about them, I do not know what else I need or should do, remember I am still new to trucks. Have lots to learn! I would like to get a lift though, and bigger tires too. Not too big of a lift or too much tire, but just enough for a good, streetable combo that I can take muddin and offroadin and have good clearance and enough lift that I won't get stuck very easily.

As far as a lift, I do not know. I would be more concerned about some sort of locker in the rear axle. With an open diff (which I am just assuming you have) a lift and tires don't do a lot of good.

If I ever get the 9" picked up for mine, I want some sort of lunchbox locker for it. Pegleg burn outs are not cool at all. :headbang:

As far as a lift, I do not know. I would be more concerned about some sort of locker in the rear axle. With an open diff (which I am just assuming you have) a lift and tires don't do a lot of good.

If I ever get the 9" picked up for mine, I want some sort of lunchbox locker for it. Pegleg burn outs are not cool at all. :headbang:

Actually, I have done 2 brake stands with this truck and both times I have left 2 black streaks. It's also 4 wheel drive, and I am assuming that when I am in 2 wheel drive, there is literally 2 wheels pullin', at least i'd like to think.[confused]

Hard to say for sure. Check the axle code on the door and post it. It may very well be a factory trac-lock axle or someone may have installed a locker of some sort.

You can feather the brakes and sort of lock the rear axle on fords. It does not always work, but in a muddy spot, I have done it before.

If you have a rear locker/limited slip...you are ahead of the game.