Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Where's the leak?

Hello all! I'm a newbie to Powerstrokes and I was hoping someone would be kind enough to share their experience with me. I have an '04 (mfd. 8/03) 6.0L in my shop that stalls and won't restart when warm, which I understand is pretty typical. At any rate, I've performed the HPOP air test and I'm getting air leaks off both banks. My question is, is there any way to pinpoint the leaks? I can see no smoke, bubbles or trails, and running my hand over the rails and rockers produces no difference in sound pitch. I would sure like to see something conclusive before I tear into it, hoping to find some kind of evidence along the way. Thanks in advance for your input.

blacksnapon

Staff member
Theres actually tools made to isolate each side. You can Isolate then do an air test, or isolate one side then see if it will start. Theres another tool to just "deadhead" the hpop.

OK, so I ended up replacing ALL the o-rings in the top half of the HPOP system (injectors and nipples). Before putting it all back together I made some plugs to block off the braided hi-pressure lines at the log rail connection and installed an IPR test plug. When I charge the lower half with air I am getting gurgling from the oil reservoir/oil filter area. I can hear no air leaks at 100 psi, but it won't hold the pressure and "glug-glugs" down to zero. Does this mean the HPOP is bad? It is allegedly a reman pump with less than ten miles on it. Thanx!

blacksnapon

Staff member