Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

1979 F-150 Directional Light problem

My directional lights weren't working so I bought a new directional switch. I just put it in and have the same problem as before. I've never really done much repair and made the obvious conclusion that it wasn't the switch. I found out that when the headlights were on the switch was silent. When I turned the headlights off the right turn made the click sound and there was a faint blinking light in the back. When turned the left one on the front left blinker shined more brightly like a break light, but the back left light did nothing. As soon as I turned the headlights on nothing happened at all and no clicking sound either. Any advice would be appreciated I'm a real beginner.

LEB Ben

Arrogant A-hole At-Large
outside your house
Dead give away sign of a ground problem. First I would clean any and all plugs and sockets. It should get better. Then check for any exposed/spliced wires...this could cause major corrosion. Lastly, what I normally do and fixes the problem 90% of the time completely is just buy new sockets all around. You can get them for about $7 at O'Reilly's or order online from Jeff's Bronco Graveyard or Dennis Carpenter. Another sign of a ground issue, is if you have your headlights on, do you have any feedback light in your signals in the dash? IE, do your blinkers glow green when your headlights are on?

Last edited:

TexasNomad

FTFS Designated DRINKER!
I'm with Ben on this one sounds like a bad ground or bad contact some place, i'd start at all the blinkers and work back from there.

73F100Shortbed

That's how we roll!
NJ
x3 on ground issue

bucks77ford

We will Rise Again