Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

c6 tranny ?

i have a 390 big block that im planning on building, does any c6 tranny fit it? i see some on craigslist saying they are small block c6 and ones that are out of 4x4 with a transfer case attatched. does the c6 fit both big and small blocks or are they different trannies? how about the ones out of the 4x4 does the transfer case just come off and its a regular c6? i know these are gonna be dumb questions to you guys but im still learning and dont have a lot of people to ask. thanks fellas

TexasNomad

FTFS Designated DRINKER!
Yes a C6 will fit any FE or 385 series engine.

surewhynot

Rep whores make me sick
Florida
There are 3 versions of the c-6. One has the Windsor style bellhousing, which is also sometimes called the small block pattern. That will not fit.

There is the 335/385 style bellhousing. That will not fit.

You need to find one with the FE style bellhousing. That is the only one that will bolt up.

Fellro

Staff member
T
You need to find one with the FE style bellhousing. That is the only one that will bolt up.

x2. The FE bell almost looks like a Chrysler bell, as it is round, not the flat top and angled sides that are common on the other app's C6 's have been on.

surewhynot

Rep whores make me sick
Florida
A c-6 does not have overdrive. It's high gear is a 1:1 ratio. AODs were never made for the FE bellhousing bolt pattern. There may be a way of adapting one, but I'm not sure it would be worth it. You could get an overdrive unit, like Gear Vendors, that goes on the tailshaft of the c-6.