Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

Anyone want a K&N drop in filter??

you think those things do what they claim??? I have no experience with them-the 90 had one in it and I replaced it with a stock version-bought the recharge kit but just never cleaned it up and stuck it back in-any views on them???

Bob Ayers

North Carolina Chapter member
Durham, NC
All they do is pass more dirt and oil than the stock OEM paper filter, which contaminates MAF sensors, and gums up IAC valves & throttle bodies....

O'Rattlecan

Redneck Prognosticator
Belton, MO
It didn't do anything for my truck. When mine gets dirty I'm going back to stock.

I imagine that if you had a modified engine and needed to move more air it could be beneficial.

Ryan

Skandocious

Post Whores Make Me Sick
California
Not sure how many of you saw my thread but I switched from a K&N fuel injection performance kit (the cylindrical K&N filter) back to a stock airbox and the improvement in throttle response is VAST. I know we're talking about a drop-in filter, but after that experience I think I'm done with K&N. Using a Motorcraft paper filter now.

The only experience with them I have is on carbed motors where hood clearence is a problem due to tall manifold, carb spacer etc. and a tall air cleaner wont work (due to clearence). The motor had a power band of 4000-7000 rpm, so the motor thus moved a lot of air. A paper filter that would fit would not flow nearly enough...the K&N one made a huge difference. The carb butterflies were very clean after a few years and the motor still has the same amount of compression it did from day one, so that shows that the filter is working well. So...do they work? In some applications yes. Does that mean they are ideal for everyone and in every application? Probably not. I just grabed this one because I saw it, it was free and I figured it may come in handy some day.