Join Our Ford Truck Forum Today

Document your Ford truck project here and inspire others! Login/Register to view the site with fewer ads.

help me blow money on my engine plz!

Hey, I am a noob to this site but I am not a noob when it comes to suspensions and all that fun off-road jazz. Well I dont exactly even have a ford, I guess at one point it was built by ford but that was a long time ago. I have a 1981 Jeep cj5 with a 351W, 1 ton axles, 39 inch tires, lockers...blah blah. On the the real reason Im here.

I am currently abotu 6,500 miles away from my jeep so it becomes a little hard to order parts for the thing. I am currently stationed in South Korea for the U.S. Army and Id like to blow a little of this extra cash on my cj.

I am lookin at basically completely replacing my engine other than the block. I will replace the block if i need to but if not, ill keep it. Im lookin for either a 393 stroker kit or a 427 stroker kit or somewhere in between. No bigger no smaller. Also a whole new Air/fuel delivery system (heads,cam,intake,everything).

Im not lookin to take this thing to the strip and toss a civic. Just for some good short sand sprints, glamis, and some nasty mud. I have the proper gear ratio's for whatever i need (FCR 13.32:1 :) ).

I was lookin at this set up for the stroker kit:
http://www.speedomotive.com/ps-111-10-ford-351w-to-427-stroker-kit.aspx

And as far as my top end goes i was lookin at this bit:
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/EDL-2092/

As far as carb goes just one of these:
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/HLY-0-90770/

I'm lookin for low to mid range torque for this thing.

What do yall think of this little combo.

Thanks.

LEB Ben

Arrogant A-hole At-Large
outside your house